10th Asian Microgravity Symposium – October 28 to 31, 2014Seoul, Korea

1st Interim Announcement

10th Asian Microgravity Symposium – 2014

October 28 to 31 (Tuesday to Friday), 2014

Hotel President, Seoul, Korea



 Organized by

Korean Microgravity Society (KMS), Korea

Japan Society of Microgravity Application (JASMA), Japan

Japanese Society for Biological Sciences in Space (JSBSS), Japan

National Institute for Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering (NIBGE), Pakistan

National Microgravity Programme, India

National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA), Thailand

National Society of Microgravity Science and Application (NSMSA), China

National Space Agency (ANGKASA), Malaysia

Supported by

Korea Aerospace Research Institute (KARI), Korea

Institute of Space and Astronautical Science/Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (ISAS/JAXA), Japan

National Science Foundation of China (NSFC), China

National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA), Thailand

National Space Agency (ANGKASA), Malaysia

 Conference Chairs (TBD)

 Organizing committee (TBD)

Scientific committee (TBD)

 International advisory boards (TBD)

 Symposium Topics

Fluid Physics/Materials Sciences

Combustion and Chemical Physics

Thermophysical Properties

Life Sciences and biotechnology for Space Exploration

Fundamental physics

Facilities and Techniques of Microgravity Experiments

Important Dates and Remarks

Dec. 1, 2013               Homepage opening

Jan. 2, 2014                Starting date for Abstract Submission

April 1, 2014              Deadline for Abstract Submission

May 1, 2014               Acceptance Notice

June 1, 2014              Deadline for registration and hotel accommodation

Oct. 28– 31, 2014       Symposium


Oct. 27 (Mon)            Registration, Welcome reception/Dinner

Oct. 28 (Tue)             Opening Ceremony, Plenary Session, Oral presentation sessions,

Oct. 29 (Wed)            Plenary Sessions, Poster Sessions, Discussion on the following Symposium, Accompanying Persons Activities

Oct. 30 (Thu)             Plenary Session, Oral/poster sessions, Banquet and Social Program in evening

31 October (Fri)        Discussion and closing comments

Language: English


*All necessary processes will be made via the AMS Homepage.




Hotel President 188-3, Euljiro 1-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul, Republic of Korea



Accommodation: Room rate 150,000 KRW per night.

Reservation for rooms will be made via the web site at the time of registration.

*Other hotels and motels are available in the vicinity of Hotel President.

 *More information will be updated for transportation between Gimpo and Incheon Int’l Airports and the Hotel.

 5. AMS Homepage

      Address   http://ams2014.org/

*The homepage is naïve at this stage and only for the purpose of reservation of web address for the Symposium. The contents will be updated after discussions with the AMS representatives. The HP will be formally opened from the beginning of December, 2013.

 6. Programs

 Programs for plenary lectures and presentations (oral, poster) are currently under formulation; the first draft may be available in the beginning of December, 2013.


 List of representatives of Asian countries

*representative contact person

§Countries are listed in an alphabetical order§

Korea (host country)

Professor Chi-Hwan LEE (Inha University) President of KMS

*Professor Inho CHOI (Yonsei University) President-elect of KMS


Professor Qiu-Sheng Liu (Institute of Mechanics, CAS) President of NSMSA

*Professor Fengyuan Zhuang (Emeritus Professor of Beihang University) (for communicating with Asian countries)

 *Ms. Binbin Wang (for communicating with Korean representatives)


Prof. Kamanio Chattopadhyay (India Institute of Science) Coordinator of National Microgravity Programme


Dr. Masamichi Ishikawa (RIKEN) President of JASMA

Professor Takeo Ohnishi (Nara Medical University, School of Medicine) President of JSBSS

*Dr. Makoto Natsuisaka (JAXA)


Mr. Mhd Fairos Asillam, National Space Agency (ANGKASA),

Head of Space Science and Research Unit

Mr. Mohd Helmy Hashim, National Space Agency (ANGKASA),

Space Science and Research Unit

*Ms. Nyanasegari Bhoo Pathy, National Space Agency (ANGKASA),

Space Science Research Unit (UPSA),Malaysia Space Center


 *Dr. Imran Amin, National Institute for Biotechnology and genetic Engineering (NIBGE)

 Agricultural Biotechnology Division


Dr. Thaweesak Koanantakool (National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)) President of NSTDA

*Dr. Sawat Tantiphanwadi (National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA))


Return to Page Top